European Forum for Renewable Energy Sources

9th Inter-Parliamentary Meeting on Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency

18th November 2009 Parliament of Belgium

Rue de Louvain/ Leuvenseweg 21, 1000 Brussels

17 th November	
18:00	Dinner Reception - Brussels City Hall (Hotel de Ville)
	Cold walking dinner, Grand Place, 1000 Brussels
	Welcome - Mechtild Rothe, President EUFORES
	Address by the sponsor of the dinner

	18 th November	
8:30	Security Access and Registration – Parliament of Belgium (please bring ID or Passport to enter the Parliament and conference) Conference Chair: Jan Geiss, Secretary General, EUFORES	
Opening		
9:15 9:30	 Welcome by Patrick Dewael, President of the Parliament of Belgium Opening panel – "Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency – The Challenge for a European sustainable energy policy" Mechtild Rothe, President EUFORES Hans van Steen, Head of Unit, DG TREN, European Commission Anette Persson, Counsellor, Permanent Representation of Sweden to the EU Tinne van der Straeten, MP Belgium Exchange of views with MEPs and MPs 	
10:45-11:15	Coffee Break	
Session 1 "Europe's Renewable Energy Future"		
11:15	 The RES Directive and the National Renewable Energy Action Plans (NREAPs) Chair: Collin Challen, MP United Kingdom "The RES-Directive", Claude Turmes, MEP, Vice-President EUFORES "The template for the NREAPs", Paul Hodson, Deputy Head of Unit, DG TREN, European Commission "Scientific studies, core projects and advice as support to the NREAPs", Mario Ragwitz, Head Renewable Energies, Fraunhofer-Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI) Exchange of views with MEPs and MPs 	



European Forum for Renewable Energy Sources

12:45-13:45	Lunch Break	
13:45	"From niche to mainstream – market prospects of renewable energy	
	technologies"	
	Chair: Maria Da Graça Carvalho, MEP Portugal	
	 "Renewables create jobs, innovation and economic growth", Arthouros Zervos, President, European Renewable Energy Council (EREC) 	
	 "Investment strategies for the success of renewable energy markets", Christopher Knowles, Associate Director, European Investment Bank 	
45.00 40.00	Exchange of views with MEPs and MPs	
15:00-16:00	"Brussels Declaration" - Closed Members of Parliament Meeting	
	Chair: Mechtild Rothe	
	Coffee Break + Guided Tour (English) for all other participants	
Session 2 "Energy Efficiency in Europe"		
16:00	 "Core Elements of European and national energy efficiency policies" Chair: Fiona Hall, MEP, Vice-President EUFORES "The new EU energy efficiency action plan", Emmanuel Cabau, Head of Task Force on the Energy Efficiency Action Plan, DG TREN, European Commission "Analyses on the National Energy Efficiency Action Plans", Ralf Schüle, Wuppertal Institute, Scientific partner, Energy-Efficiency-Watch "The recast of the Energy Performance in Buildings Directive", Silvia Adriana Ticau, MEP, Rapporteur EPBD recast "The EU Labelling Directive", Anni Podimata, MEP, Rapporteur recast EU Labelling Directive "US Energy Efficiency Policy under the new Obama administration", 	
	Kateri Callahan, President, Alliance to Save Energy Exchange of views with MEPs and MPs	
18:00	Closing of the conference	
18:30	"Brussels by Night" Bus Tour	
19:30-	Seated Dinner in the Atomium	
23:00	Welcome: Mechtild Rothe	

^{*} to be confirmed

Key Supporting Partner





Supporting Partner



In Cooperation with

Supported by





Disclaimer: The sole responsibility for the content of this publication lies with the authors. It does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the European Communities. The European Commission is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information contained therein.